We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Current Affairs


Date: 13 November 2021 Tags: Miscellaneous


Recently, the Karnataka government decided to rename the Mumbai-Karnataka region of the state as Kittur-Karnataka.



The region includes seven districts of Uttara Kannada, Belagavi, Bagalkote, Dharwad, Vijayapura, Gadag and Haveri.



  • The renaming was a long-pending demand of pro-Kannada organizations who had demanded that the reference to Mumbai be dropped.

  • The government says that the old name created border disputes due to the perception that these regions were part of Mumbai.

  • The Karnataka government had similarly renamed the Hyderabad-Karnataka region as Kalyana Karnataka.


Logic behind renaming

The government wants to dissociate itself from any ties with the erstwhile Presidency of Bombay, which was responsible for the origin of name. These regions became part of the state of Karnataka in 1956.


Maharashtra’s claims

  • Maharashtra claims parts of Belagavi, Uttara Kannada, Bidar and Kalburgi as its territory. It also says that the city of Belagavi, Nippani and Karwar should be part of their state based on linguistic lines.

  • Every year on November 1 Maharashtra Ekikaran Samiti (MES) observes a black day as a protest against annexation of disputed regions.


The Bombay Presidency

  • The erstwhile Bombay presidency included areas of present-day Karnataka. These areas were made part of Mysore State under States Reorganisation Act of 1956.

  • The state government has built a legislative assembly in Belagavi to defuse any territorial claims from Maharashtra and MES.


Other reasons

  • The Kittur-Karnataka region is named after Kittur Chennamma, who belongs to the dominant Panchamasali sect of Lingayats.

  • It will remove the tension that has arisen between the government and the sect for inclusion in 2A-OBC category of the reservation list.


Kalyana Karnataka

  • The government had renamed Hyderabad-Karnataka as Kalyana Karnataka in 2019 as a part of efforts to avoid association with the former princely state of Hyderabad.

  • The region comprising of the districts of Yadgir, Raichur, Kalburgi, Koppal, Ballari and Bidar have been given special status under the Constitution (Article 371J) owing to its backwardness.

  • The region has been named after Kingdom of Kalyana, which was the epicenter of 12th century Sharana movement initiated by Basavanna.