We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Current Affairs

US wins 2019 Women’s FIFA World Cup

Date: 08 July 2019 Tags: Sports

United States (US) won FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 title by defeating Netherlands by 2-0 goals in the final match held in Lyon, France. It was eight edition of Women’s FIFA World Cup and for US, two goals were scored by Megan Rapinoe in penalty and Rose Lavelle. It was overall record 4th Women’s FIFA World Cup title by US (earlier won in 1991, 1999 and 2015), underlining US’s status as dominant force in international women’s football. US’s coach Jill Ellis also became 1st coach to win back-to-back World Cups in men’s or women’s football since Italy’s Vittorio Pozzo in 1930s.

2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup Awards

  • Golden Ball Award: Megan Rapinoe  (US).
  • Golden Boot Award: Megan Rapinoe ( 6 goals, 3 assists, 428 minutes played).
  • Golden Glove Award: Sari van Veenendaal (Netherlands).
  • Young Player Award: Giulia Gwinn (Germany).
  • Fair Play Award: France.

About Women’s FIFA World Cup

It was established 1991, 61 years after the men’s first FIFA World Cup held in 1930.  It is held every 4 years amongst women’s national football teams of the member states of FIFA. Most wins: United States for 4 times (1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019), followed by Germany 2 times (2003, 2007).