Call us for Counseling - 9580048004, For Support - 8860807050.  

Current Affairs

Warsaw pact

Date: 08 March 2022 Tags: International Organizations


The alleged reason for Russian invasion of Ukraine was east-ward expansion of NATO towards countries of Warsaw pact.



  • Warsaw pact was a collective defence treaty signed by member countries of Soviet Union and other eastern European nations.

  • It was the Soviet version of NATO, the collective security treaty of Western powers led by the United States of America.

  • Member states included Soviet Union, Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland and Romania.



  • It was officially known as Treaty of Friendship, Co-operation and Mutual Assistance and was signed in 1955.

  • They emphasized non-interference in the internal affairs of its members and said decision would be made collectively.


Power blocs

  • The Warsaw pact states constituted the eastern bloc influenced by USSR while NATO states represented western bloc led by USA.

  • The ideological differences between the two blocs started an arms race, which culminated in the Cold war era.


End of Warsaw pact

  • The dissolution of Warsaw pact was announced in 1991. It was followed by fall of communist governments in Poland, Hungary, East Germany, Romania etc.

  • Shortly after the fallout, the Soviet Union was dissolved and smaller independent republics emerged.


Reasons for fall of Warsaw pact

  • Economic slowdown in east European nations gave rise to popular uprisings. It was followed by political changes in the member states.

  • The political changes were followed by ideological changes, making it virtually impossible to adhere to the treaty.


Post dissolution

  • East Germany joined NATO following its reunification with the West. Many ex-Warsaw pact countries like Poland have now become members of NATO.

  • The independent republics of Soviet Union formed the Collective Security Treaty Organization.