Call us for Counseling - 9580048004, For Support - 8860807050.  

Current Affairs

Bucharest Nine

Date: 28 March 2022 Tags: Miscellaneous


The Russian aggression in Ukraine has put back the focus on eastern European group known as Bucharest Nine.



The grouping has come together to oppose the premeditated, unprovoked and unjustified Russian aggression in Ukraine.



  • Bucharest Nine is a group of nine eastern European nations that joined NATO after the end of the Cold War.

  • The main reason for Russian aggression, eastward expansion of NATO, has been rejected by Bucharest Nine and instead said they have joined west by their own will.



  • Bucharest Nine is also abbreviated as B9 and is named after Bucharest, the capital of Romania where the organisation was founded in 2015.

  • Romanian President Klaus Iohannis and Polish President Andrzej Duda were the initiators of this grouping.



Its function is to provide platform for deepening the dialogue and consultation among the participant allied states of NATO.



  • Hungary, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and the Baltic republics of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania are members apart from Poland and Romania.

  • The member countries were earlier closely associated with Soviet Union but later aligned towards west following dissolution.

  • Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania were part of USSR while Poland, Romania, Bulgaria and Hungary were signatories of Warsaw pact.

  • The members of Bucharest Nine are part of NATO as well as European Union.


Common opposition

  • All the members of Bucharest Nine are opposed to aggressive stance adopted by President Putin by attacking Ukraine.

  • They were critical of Russian move of annexing Crimea in 2014. The independence recognition given to Donbass region is also opposed.

  • The group has been conducting meeting with European stakeholders regarding the situation in Ukraine. The US President has also participated in such meetings.