We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Tags Current Affairs

South Coast Railway: Indian Railways announces new zone

Date: 28 February 2019 Tags: Railways

Union Ministry of Railways has announced creation of new railway zone named South Coast Railway (SCoR) in Andhra Pradesh with headquarter at Visakhapatnam. It will be 18th railway zone in the country.


This separate railway zone was created as per one of key promises made to Andhra Pradesh in bifurcation act. As per item 8 of Schedule 13 (Infrastructure) of Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014, Indian Railways was required to examine establishing new railway zone in successor State of Andhra Pradesh.

South Coast Railway (SCoR)

  • It will comprise of existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijayawada divisions that currently fall under South Central Railway (SCR). It will also Waltair division,
  • Waltair division will be also split into two parts. One part will be incorporated in new zone and will be merged with neighbouring Vijaywada division.
  • Remaining portion will be converted into new division with headquarter at Raygada under East Coast Railway (ECoR).
  • With the formation of new zone, SCR will now comprise of Hyderabad, Secunderabad and Nanded divisions.

18 Railway Zones: Northern Railway (Headquaters: Delhi), North Eastern Railway (Gorakhpur), Northeast Frontier Railway (Guwahati), Eastern Railway (Kolkata), South Central Railway (Hyderabad), Southern Railway (Chennai), Central Railway (Mumbai), Western Railway (Mumbai), South Western Railway (Hubballi), North Western Railway (Jaipur), West Central Railway (Jabalpur), North Central Railway (Prayagraj), South East Central Railway (Bilaspur), East Coast Railway (Bhubaneswar), East Central Railway (Hajipur), South Coast Railway (Visakhapatnam) and Konkan Railway (Navi Mumbai).

Notice (8): Undefined variable: quizpole [ROOT/plugins/Studyiq/src/Template/Pages/tagdetails.ctp, line 161]