Call us for Counseling - 9580048004, For Support - 8860807050.  

Tags Current Affairs

Boeing-737 fleet

Date: 23 March 2022 Tags: Miscellaneous


Enhanced surveillance has been ordered by aviation safety regulator in India due to recent incident of Boeing 737 crash in China.



The fatal crash involved a Boeing 737-800 operated by the China Eastern airlines, which resulted in the death of 132 people.



  • The monitoring will be carried out under the aegis of Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA).

  • The GGCA has deployed monitoring teams to see to it that the 737 fleets of Indian carriers are operated and maintained as per norms.

  • This process will continue until the investigation report comes out regarding the cause for the China Eastern crash and the role of the aircraft in the incident.


The 737 Boeing aircrafts

  • The 737 is one of the most popular passenger aircrafts of the world. Boeing has sold more models of the aircraft than any other companies.

  • Following accidents involving Boeing 737 Max, the DGCA had banned Boeing 737 Max planes in India in March 2019. 

  • They were re-allowed in August 2021 after Boeing made necessary software rectifications to the satisfaction of the DGCA.


Boeing 737 family in India

  • Air India Express has 24 Boeing 737-800 planes

  • Vistara has five 737-800 aircraft in its fleet

  • SpiceJet has a total of 60 Boeing 737 planes


Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA)

The DGCA is a statutory body involved in regulating civil aviation in India. It was formed under the Aircraft (Amendment) Bill, 2020.



  • Investigating aviation accidents and incidents

  • Maintaining all regulations related to aviation 

  • Responsible for issuance of licenses related to aviation


Civil Aviation Authority (CAA)

  • CAA is a proposed autonomous regulatory body that will replace the DGCA and meet standards set by the UN's International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). 

  • It is modeled on the lines of the American Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). It will have powers to better equip it to face the challenges of the growing Aviation sector in the country.



  • It will consist of a Chairperson, a Director General and 7-9 members appointed by the Central Government.

  • Members will be qualified in the fields of aviation safety, flight standard operations, aircraft engineering, aerodromes, air navigation systems and air space management.

Notice (8): Undefined variable: quizpole [ROOT/plugins/Studyiq/src/Template/Pages/tagdetails.ctp, line 161]