We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Tags Current Affairs

EC allocation of party symbols

Date: 14 October 2020 Tags: Miscellaneous


As Bihar elections approach, smaller parties are engaged in finding a suitable electoral symbol for their candidature.



Electoral symbols help the several unrecognised parties and independent candidates differentiate themselves from one another and help voters identify the party of their choice.



  • In Indian elections, symbols are crucial campaigning tools to connect with the voters. Symbols have become a crucial part of the electoral process ever since India held its first national polls in 1951-52.

  • Since nearly 85 percent of the electorate were illiterate at that point, visual symbols were allotted to parties and candidates to help them identify the party of their choice.

  • As per the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) (Amendment) Order, 2017, party symbols are either “reserved” or “free”.

  • While eight national parties and 64 state parties across the country have “reserved” symbols, the Election Commission also has a pool of nearly 200 “free” symbols that are allotted to the thousands of unrecognised regional parties that pop up before elections.

  • According to EC, there are 2,538 unrecognised parties in India. If a party recognised in a particular state contests in elections in another state, it can “reserve” the symbol being used by it, provided the symbol is not being used or bears resemblance to that of any other party.

  • As per the guidelines, to get a symbol allotted, a party/candidate has to provide a list of three symbols from the EC’s free symbols list at the time of filing nomination papers.

  • Among them, one symbol is allotted to the party/candidate on a first-come-first-serve basis.

  • When a recognised political party splits, the Election Commission takes the decision on assigning the symbol. 

  • Similarly, following Jayalalithaa’s death, the AIADMK split into two factions and both had staked claim to the iconic two leaves election symbol, leading the EC to freeze the symbol.

  • After hearing, the EC allotted the two leaves symbol to the Palaniswami-Panneerselvam faction, ruling that they enjoyed the support of the majority in the AIADMK’s legislative and organisational wings.

Notice (8): Undefined variable: quizpole [ROOT/plugins/Studyiq/src/Template/Pages/tagdetails.ctp, line 161]