We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Tags Current Affairs

Sary-Arka-Antiterror 2019: SCO to conduct joint anti-terrorism exercise

Date: 19 March 2019 Tags: Military Exercises

Shanghai Cooperation Organization's (SCO) member states will conduct joint anti-terrorism exercise "Sary-Arka-Antiterror 2019". It was announced at 34th meeting of Council of Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) of the SCO held in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. It also announced to conduct first stage of joint border operation "Solidarity 2019-2021,"

34th RATS council meeting was chaired by Russia. It was attended by delegations of the competent authorities of India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyz Republic, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and RATS Executive Committee.

SCO-Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS)

  • It is permanent organ of SCO. It is headquartered in Tashkent, Uzbekistan.
  • It serves to promote cooperation among SCO member states against three evils of terrorism, separatism and extremism.
  • Its head is elected to three-year term. Each member state of SCO sends permanent representative to RATS

Shanghai Cooperation Organization's (SCO)

  • It is Eurasian economic, political and security organisation headquartered in Beijing, China.
  • Its main objective is military cooperation between member states. It is primarily centred on security-related concerns of Central Asian members with main threats being terrorism, separatism and extremism. It also works towards counter-terrorism operations, intelligence-sharing in Central Asia.
  • It was established in June 2001. It is successor of Shanghai Five mechanism which was established in 1996 with China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan as members.
  • Members: China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, India and Pakistan. India and Pakistan were granted SCO membership in June 2017.
  • Iran, Afghanistan, Belarus and Mongolia enjoy observer status of SCO. Turkey, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Sri Lanka and Nepal are dialogue partners of SCO.
Notice (8): Undefined variable: quizpole [ROOT/plugins/Studyiq/src/Template/Pages/tagdetails.ctp, line 161]