We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Tags Current Affairs

IEA praises Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana

Date: 20 July 2019 Tags: Health

International Energy Agency (IEA) has praised the Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana (PMUY) for providing free cooking gas connection to poor. It noted that this welfare scheme is major achievement in improving the environment and health of women.

About Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana (PMUY)

  • It was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in May 2016, in Ballia, Uttar Pradesh with tagline is Swachh Indhan, Behtar Jeevan.
  • Objective: Providing clean-cooking fuel to poor households, which are otherwise vulnerable to health hazards associated with indoor air pollution.  Empowering women and safeguard their health by shifting them from traditional cooking based on unclean cooking fuels or fossil fuels to clean cooking gas.
  • Coverage: It is implemented in all the States/UTs. It was launched with the identification from the Socio Economic and Caste Census, but was subsequently expanded to cover all poor of the country.
  • Implementation: It is implemented by Union Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas through its Oil Marketing Companies (i.e., BPCL, IOC and HPCL) and their distributors network. It is first welfare scheme implemented by Ministry of Power and Natural Gas.
  • Intended beneficiaries: Adult woman member of BPL family, who is given deposit-free LPG connection with financial assistance of Rs 1,600 per connection by the Centre.
  • Identification of Beneficiaries: It is done through Socio-Economic Caste Census List-2011 (SECC-2011) in consultation with state/UT governments.
  • If names are not covered under SECC list, then beneficiaries are identified from 7 categories such as Most Backward Classes, SC/ST households, Forest Dwellers etc.
  • Present Implementation Status: So far, about 7.4 crore LPG connections have been given under this scheme. Government has set target to give 8 crore connections by 2020.

About International Energy Agency (IEA)

  • It is an inter-governmental organization that works to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for its 30 member countries and 8 association countries.
  • Establishment: In 1974 as per framework of OECD in the wake of 1973 oil crisis after OPEC cartel had shocked the world with steep increase in oil prices.
  • Headquarters (Secretariat): Paris, France.
  • Mandate: To act as a policy adviser in promoting alternate energy sources (including renewable energy), rational energy policies, and multinational energy technology co-operation.
  • Its mission is guided by four main areas (“4Es”) of focus: energy security, economic development, environmental awareness (focused on mitigating climate change) and engagement worldwide.
  • It also seeks to promote rational energy policies, alternate energy sources (including renewable energy) and multinational energy technology co-operation.
  • Members:  Only the OECD member states can become members of the IEA. Currently, it has 30 member countries and 8 association countries. India is associate member of IEA (not full member). Other associate members are Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Morocco, Singapore and Thailand.
  • Publications/Reports: World Energy Outlook report.
Notice (8): Undefined variable: quizpole [ROOT/plugins/Studyiq/src/Template/Pages/tagdetails.ctp, line 161]