We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Tags Current Affairs

Office of Chief Minister

Date: 17 November 2020 Tags: Constitution


Nitish Kumar of NDA was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the 4th consecutive time. The NDA has managed to be in power from the past 15 years.



The Chief Minister is the head of the government. He is assisted by his council of ministers who are a part of state executive along with Governor.



  • The governor appoints the leader of the largest party of the house or leader chosen by the largest coalition to become the chief minister.

  • The governor may exercise situational discretion if no party has clear majority. He may ask a leader to become chief minister and then prove his majority on floor of the house.

  • In case the chief minister dies and no successor is present then the governor may appoint one at his discretion but if the ruling party has a nominee then the governor has no choice but to appoint that person.

  • Chief Minister must become member of either house within 6 months or else he ceases to hold his office.

  • His term of office is for five years, but remains in office till they enjoy the support of the majority in the Assembly.


Powers and functions

  • He communicates to the governor all matters related to administration of the state and proposed legislations.

  • He furnishes information required by the governor relating to administration of the union or proposed legislations.

  • He submits to the consideration of the council of ministers any matter on which decision has been taken by an individual minister but the Council of Ministers has not considered it.

  • He can advice governor to summon or prorogue the house sessions. He can advice dissolution of legislative assembly to the governor anytime. He announces government policies on the floor of the house.

  • He is advisor of governor regarding appointments to various regulators and constitutional bodies of the union.

  • He recommends people to be appointed as ministers to the governor. He allocates and reshuffles portfolios amongst them.

  • He can ask the minister to resign or tell the governor to dismiss him. He supervises activities of all ministers. 

  • His resignation or death leads to dissolution of the council of ministers.

Office of Chief-Minister

Date: 13 March 2021 Tags: Constitution


Tirath Singh Rawat has taken oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. He will replace Trivendra Singh Rawat.



  • The chief Minister is the de facto head of executive of a state. He is the leader with majority support in the state’s legislature.

  • Article 164 says that he chief Minister will be appointed by the governor. There are no particular conditions for appointment except that he should command a majority.

  • The chief Minister holds office till the pleasure of the governor.



  • He should be a citizen of India.

  • He should be of the age of 25 years or more.

  • He should be member of the state legislature.

  • A non-member can be appointed a chief Minister but he has to get elected within six months.


Vote of confidence

After being appointed the chief minister, the chief minister has to seek vote of confidence from lower house of state assembly.



  • The Chief Minister can resign from his position by writing to the governor. The council of ministers is automatically dissolved in case the chief minister resigns from office.

  • The chief minister has to resign if he loses confidence of the lower house of the state legislature.


Power and functions

  • He can advise governor on appointing any member as a minister.

  • He can ask a minister to resign in case of differences.

  • He has to communicate with the governors all decisions of the council of ministers.

  • The chief minister advises governor regarding appointment of important posts such as Attorney General of State, State Public Service Commissioner, State Election Commissioner etc.

  • He can advise governor on dissolution of state assembly. He also advises on summoning and prorogation of assembly session from time to time.

Notice (8): Undefined variable: quizpole [ROOT/plugins/Studyiq/src/Template/Pages/tagdetails.ctp, line 161]