We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Tags Current Affairs

RAW officer V K Johri appointed as DG of BSF

Date: 29 July 2019 Tags: Appointments & Resignations

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has appointed RAW officer V K Johri as the next Director General (DG) of Border Security Force (BSF). He will succeed incumbent Rajni Kanti Mishra, who retires on August 31, 2019. He will have tenure till September, 2020. He is 1984-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre. He is presently serving as Special Secretary in India’s external intelligence agency Research and Analysis Wing, under Cabinet Secretariat. This is for first time that intellegience-officer has been elevated to DG as BSF.

About Border Security Force (BSF)

  • It is primary border guarding force of India. It is a paramilitary force charged with guarding India's land border during peace time and preventing transnational crime. It is tasked to secure two of India's most important and sensitive fronts with Pakistan and Bangladesh.
  • It was established in December, 1965 in the wake of 1965 Indo-Pak War or ensuring security of borders of India and for matters connected there with. It is termed as first line of Defence of Indian Territories and is sentinels of Indian borders with Pakistan and Bangladesh.
  • It is one of five Central Armed Police Forces of Central Government, under the administrative control of Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).
  • It is mandated with guarding India’s land border during peacetime and preventing transnational crime.  Currently, it stands as the world’s largest border guarding force.
  • It is deployed on Indo-Pakistan International Border (IB), Indo-Bangladesh IB, Line of Control (LoC) along with Indian Army. It is also deployed in anti-naxal operations.
  • It has total 186 battalions with sanctioned strength of 2.5 lakh personnel. It has its own air wing, marine wing, artillery regiments, and commando units.

Note: Two other border guarding forces of India are Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and Sashastra Seema Bal. ITBP is mandated to guard Indo-China border and SSB is mandated to guard India’s border with Nepal and Bhutan.

Notice (8): Undefined variable: quizpole [ROOT/plugins/Studyiq/src/Template/Pages/tagdetails.ctp, line 161]