We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

Tags Current Affairs

Ajit Doval reappointed as National Security Adviser

Date: 03 June 2019 Tags: Appointments & Resignations

Union Government has reappointed National Security Adviser (NSA) Ajit Doval (74) for another five years. He also has been given Cabinet Rank for contribution to national security domain. During first term of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, NSA Doval was given rank of Minister of State (MoS).

About Ajit Doval

  • He was 1968-batch IPS officer (retired in January 2005) of Kerala cadre. He had worked as intelligence officer for over 33 years during which he served in North East, Jammu and Kashmir and Punjab. He also had done diplomatic assignments in Pakistan and the UK.
  • He had served as Director of Intelligence Bureau (IB) from July 2004 to January 2005. Prior to that, he had headed the IB’s operations wing for over a decade. After retirement, he founded Vivekananda International Foundation, a public policy think tank set up by the Vivekananda Kendra.
  • In 2009 and 2011, he had co-written two reports on "Indian Black Money Abroad In Secret Banks and Tax Havens" with others, leading in the field as part of the task force constituted by Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP).
  • He was appointed as India's fifth NSA in May 2014. Under his supervision, 2016 Indian Line of Control Surgical strike (September 2016) aftermath of Uri terror attack and 2019 Balakot airstrike (February 2019) after suicide attack on CRPF convey were conducted.

National Security Advisor (NSA)

  • He is chief executive or presides over National Security Council (NSC). He is also the primary advisor to Prime Minister on national and international security and oversees strategic issues. He serves at the discretion of the Prime Minister of India.
  • Intelligence agencies such as Research & Analysis Wing (RAW) and Intelligence Bureau (IB) report to NSA, rather than directly to PM. It is considered as prominent and powerful office in the bureaucracy in India .
  • Genesis: The post of NSA was created by Atal Bihari Vajpayee Government in November 1998. Brajesh Mishra was first NSA of India.
  • Previous NSAs: Since the inception of the post, all NSAs appointed belong to Indian Foreign Service (IFS) viz. Brajesh Mishra (1st, in office from 1998 to 2004), J N Dixit (2nd, May 2004 and January 2005), Shivshankar Menon (4th, January 2010 to May 2014) except M K Narayanan (3rd, January 2005 to January 2010) and incumbent, Ajit Doval (5th, since 2014) who belong to Indian Police Service (IFS).
  • National Security Council (NSC): It is executive government agency established in 1998 to oversee political, economic, energy and security issues of strategic concern. It is three-tiered organization comprising (i) Strategic Policy Group (SPG), (ii) National Security Advisory Board (NSAB) and (iii) Joint Intelligence Committee (JIC).
Notice (8): Undefined variable: quizpole [ROOT/plugins/Studyiq/src/Template/Pages/tagdetails.ctp, line 161]