We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.  

News in Short

News in Short - 20-December-2019

US president Donald Trump gets impeached

Date: 20 December 2019 Tags: Appointments & Resignations
  • US President Donald Trump has been impeached by the US House of Representatives for abusing his constitutional powers for carrying out act of political vendetta.
  • Trump became only the third American President, after Andrew Johnson and Bill Clinton,to be formally charged under the Constitution’s ultimate remedy for high crimes and misdemeanours.
  • The trial is expected to begin in January in the Senate, where a vote of two-thirds is necessary for conviction.

Researchers closest to solve Newton’s three body problem

Date: 20 December 2019 Tags: Miscellaneous
  • Scientists have made one of the largest steps yet in solving Newton's three-body problem.
  • Newton's laws of motion, nor any physical laws, explain the movements of three bodies in orbit. The equations don't compute.
  • Scientists focused on recent discoveries related to unstable three-body systems, chiefly, that models suggest unstable three-body systems will eventually expel one of their members, with the remaining two forming a stable relationship.
  • Moving forward, scientists hope to tweak their equations to explain the relationship between two bodies that have recently expelled the third body and formed a newly stable relationship.

Cyrus Mistry reinstated as Tata group chairman

Date: 20 December 2019 Tags: Honours & Awards
  • The National Company Law Appellate Tribunal has nullified appointment of N Chandrasekaran as Chairman of Tata Sons group and reinstated Cyrus Mistry at the position.
  • Cyrus Mistry was unceremoniously sacked as the chairman of Tata Sons group in October 2016.
  • Mistry and his conglomerateShapoorji Pallonji & co is the largest minority stake holder in Tata Sons group and he is the director of many Tata companies.

Sahitya akademi awards

Date: 20 December 2019 Tags: Honours & Awards
  • Politician-writer Shashi Tharoorand playwright Nand Kishore Acharya are among 23 writers chosen for the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award 2019.
  • While Tharoor won the award for his book “An Era of Darkness” in English, Acharya will receive the recognition for his book of Hindi poetry, “Chheelatey Hue Apne Ko”.

Other winners are

  • Phukan Ch. Basumatary (Bodo), Nand Kishore Acharya (Hindi), Niba A Khandekar (Konkani), Kumar Manish Arvind (Maithili), V Madhusoodanan Nair (Malayalam), Anuradha Patil (Marathi), Penna Madhusudan (Sanskrit), Joysree Goswami Mahanta (Assamese), L Birmangol Singh (Manipuri), Cho Dharman (Tamil) and Bandi Narayan Swami (Telugu), Abdul Ahad Hajini (Kashmiri), Tarun Kanti Mishra (Odia), Kripal Kazak (Punjabi), Ramswaroop Kisan (Rajasthani), Kali Charan Hembram (Santali), and Ishwar Moorjani (Sindhi).