We have launched our mobile app, get it now. Or call : 9354229384, 9354252518, 9999830584.

Current Affairs

Filter By Date

Filter By Date

Arata Isozaki awarded 2019 Pritzker Architecture Prize

Date: 08 March 2019 Tags: Honours & Awards

Japanese architect Arata Isozaki (87) was awarded Pritzker Architecture Prize for year 2019. He is credited with bringing together the East and West in his innovative architectural designs. He is eight Japanese national to win this prestigious prize.

Arata Isozaki

  • Isozaki’s first international architectural commission was Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles and was inspired by red sandstone buildings of India.
  • Some of his famous works are Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona for 1992 Olympics, Shenzen Cultural Center in China and Allianz Tower in Milan.
  • His buildings are also found all over Japan, including museums and community centers in Kyushu, Osaka and capital city Tokyo.

Pritzker prize

  • It is one of the world’s premier architecture prizes and is often referred to as the Nobel Prize of architecture.
  • It was established in 1979 by Pritzker family of Chicago, United States.
  • It honors living architect or architects each year whose work demonstrates talent and vision, as well as a contribution to humanity
  • It is awarded annually and carries monetary award of US$ 100,000 along with bronze medallion.
  • Some of its previous winners include world-renowned architects like Frank Gehry, Zaha Hadid, IM Pei, and Shigeru Ban.
  • Note: In 2018, legendary Indian architect Balkrishna Doshi become first Indian awarded with this prestigious award.